FOLK FICTION

In FOLK FICTION, we invent our own folklore. Refined and archaic, sassy and formal. We invent a collective identity as a wild mix of self-portrait and utopia, inspired by our stories, preferences and desires. With pomp and poetry, silliness and seriousness, always carried by the pounding groove of tap.

A collective identity is central these days. It defines who belongs and who doesn’t. It mobilizes masses and shapes society. It is freely invented, but radically effective. We want a say in that!

From a compositional view, FOLK FICTION is much more complex than our previous pieces: Each of us dances a different version of the choreography, but everything fits together into a moving mosaic, creating images of cohesion and division, group turmoil and ritual.

It was never planned like this, but all of us had to surpass our expectations of ourselves to dance FOLK FICTION and do something we never thought we could pull off. We almost failed. After the final rehearsals, we were all absolutely exhausted. The fact that we managed to succeed after all has made us so much stronger. Thanks to FOLK FICTION, we’ve really become a company. And so it turned out that dealing with collective identity actually created an identity.

Sebastian Weber SWDC 2020
A thought-provoking elemental force of dance – “All the bodies actually become instruments, in which the energy flows from the soles of the feet and the tips of the toes through all the limbs, right into the arms and the fingertips. It is precisely this energy that ultimately puts all and everything into irresistible motion.
Moments of rest, of concentration, in which all the dancers find each other in the dark or in a dimly lit space and become one large body, strengthen the dynamics of this elemental dance force that is set free moments later. It is this force that seems almost impossible to resist. Despite all the enthusiasm reflected in the long-lasting applause from the premiere audience, it is also thought-provoking. After all, elemental forces come in many forms, which in groups are more constructive, manipulative, and, above all, also more intricate. And precisely for this reason, they are more dangerous. The message behind Folk Fiction hits home.”

Rhein-Neckar Zeitung

A work that is convincing in its mere form of stormy immediacy. In a sequence of loosely linked dance sets, Weber and his dancers give their all until they are utterly spent. They come together to form large-scale living character formations that tap dance their way through the stage space with the concentrated force of rhythm machines. Or they merge under a cone of light, forming a nucleus, from the inside of which the clatter of the tap shoes emerges as an insistent beat.

Steffen Georgi, Leipziger Volkszeitung

Previous
Next
10x 0 m
Stage size
0 Min
Duration
0
Dancers
> 0
Recommended age

Credits

Dance
Andrea Alvergue
Helen Duffy
Janne Eraker
Vilma Kananen
Nikolai Kemeny
Samuel Vère
Sebastian Weber

Choreography
Sebastian Weber + Company

Choreography-Assistance
Michela Pesce

Dramaturgy
Steffen Fuchs

Costume Design
Anna Spenn
in cooperation with the costume department of Theater Koblenz

Light Design
Thomas Knopp
Jakob Bauer

Composition and Musical Direction
Christoph Hillmann
Christian Grothe
Sebastian Weber

Musicans
Gangbe Brass Band
Ernesto Aznarán
Antonio Vilchez
Andreas Dänel
Gregor Lener

Production Management
Josepha Vogel i
n cooperation with the artistic administration office of Theater Koblenz

Pictures
Tom Dachs
Jörg Singer

Production
Gesa Volland + Sebastian Weber GbR i
n cooperation with Theater Koblenz

Funded by
German Federal Cultural Foundation, Doppelpass Fund

Events

April 2021

09.April 20:00 - 21:15
Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden
10.April 20:00 - 21:15
Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden

Download Portfolio

Here you can download the portfolio.

Contact

CABOOM

CABOOM is a dance about chaos. About the fears and uncertainties that create chaos.

FOLK FICTION

In Folk Fiction erfinden wir unsere eigene Folklore. Raffiniert und archaisch, frech und feierlich. Wir erfinden eine kollektive Identität als wilden Mix aus Selbstportrait und Utopie, inspiriert aus unseren Geschichten, Vorlieben und Wünschen. Mit Pomp und Poesie, Albernheit und Ernst, immer getragen vom pochenden Groove des Step.

Kollektive Identität steht dieser Tage hoch im Kurs. Sie regelt, wer dazugehört und wer nicht. Sie mobilisiert Massen und formt die Gesellschaft. Ist frei erfunden, aber radikal wirksam. Da wollen wir mitreden!

Folk Fiction ist kompositorisch viel komplexer als unsere vorigen Stücke: Jede*r von uns tanzt eine andere Version der Choreografie, aber alles fügt sich zusammen zu einem beweglichen Mosaik, lässt Bilder entstehen von Zusammenhalt und Spaltung, Gruppenrausch und Ritual.

Es war nie so geplant, aber jede*r von uns musste in Folk Fiction über sich hinauswachsen. Etwas hinkriegen, von dem wir vorher dachten, das schaffen wir nie. Wir sind fast daran gescheitert und waren nach den Endproben restlos erschöpft. Das wir es dann doch geschafft haben, hat uns enorm gestärkt. Durch Folk Fiction sind wir erst wirklich zu einer Company geworden. So wurde die Arbeit an der kollektiven Identität tatsächlich identitätsstiftend.

Sebastian Weber SWDC 2020
Tänzerische Urgewalt zum nachdenken – „Da werden tatsächlich alle Körper zu Instrumenten, bei denen die Energie aus den Fußsohlen, aus den Zehenspitzen durch alle Körperteile hindurch fließt bis in die Arme und die Fingerspitzen. Eben jene Energie versetzt schließlich alle und alles in unwiderstehliche Bewegung.
Momente der Ruhe, der Konzentration, in denen alle Tänzer im abgedunkelten oder nur sparsam erhellten Raum zueinanderfinden, zu einem großen Körper werden, verstärken die Dynamik dieser im nächsten Augenblick wieder aus- und losbrechenden tänzerischen Urgewalt noch. Einer Urgewalt, der zu widerstehen kaum möglich scheint. Das stimmt bei aller Begeisterung, die sich in lang anhaltendem Beifall der Premierenbesucher niederschlägt, auch nachdenklich. Urgewalt gibt es schließlich in vielerlei Form, in Gruppen strukturierender, manipulierender, vor allem auch intrikater und gerade deshalb gefährlicher. Die Message von „Folk Fiction“ sitzt.“
Rhein-Neckar Zeitung
Eine Arbeit, die in ihrer bloßen Form ungestümer Unmittelbarkeit überzeugt. In einer Abfolge lose verknüpfter Tanz-Sets powern Weber und seine Tänzerinnen und Tänzer bis zur Verausgabung. Fügen sich zu weit ausschwingenden Formationen, die mit geballter Kraft wie Rhythmusmaschinen durch den Bühnenraum steppen. Oder ziehen sich zusammen im eng fokussierten Licht, werden zu einem Schmelzkern, aus dessen Innerem das Tackern der Steppschuhe als still insistierendes Pulsieren dringt.
Steffen Georgi, Leipziger Volkszeitung
Previous
Next
10x 0 m
Bühnengröße
0 Min
Dauer
0
Team
> 0
Altersempfehlung

Credits

Tanz
Andrea Alvergue
Helen Duffy
Janne Eraker
Vilma Kananen
Nikolai Kemeny
Samuel Vère
Sebastian Weber

Choreografie
Sebastian Weber + Company

Choreografie-Assistenz
Michela Pesce

Dramaturgie
Steffen Fuchs

Kostümbildner
Anna Spenn
in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kostümabteilung des Theater Koblenz

Licht
Thomas Knopp
Jakob Bauer

Komposition und musikalische Leitung
Christoph HIllmann
Christian Grothe
Sebastian Weber

Musiker
Gangbe Brass Band
Ernesto Aznarán
Antonio Vilchez
Andreas Dänel
Gregor Lener

Produktionsleitung
Josepha Vogel 
in Zusammenarbeit mit dem KBB des Theater Koblenz

Fotos
Tom Dachs
Jörg Singer

Produktion
Gesa Volland + Sebastian Weber GbR
in Partnerschaft mit Theater Koblenz

Gefördert von
Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Fonds Doppelpass

Termine

Oktober 2020

16.Oktober 19:30 - 21:00
Landesbühnen Sachsen Radebeul

Download Portfolio

Kurzinfo, omnim ent ant, conem. Ut rentia voluptatur? Bis secupti offictate enda autatur assitis magni officaborior sinctat ibusae rest atios ipsa autemque as corume doluptae

Kontakt

CABOOM

Caboom ist ein Tanz über das Chaos. Über die Ängste und Unsicherheiten, die Chaos erzeugt.