Interview about “The Legend of Syd O’Noo”

12. February 2016

To document the productions funded by the “Tanzfonds Erbe” (Dance Heritage Fund), the DIEHL+RITTER agency commissions video interviews with the directors and choreographers involved. Andrea Keiz was asked to interview us. Here is her film.

Interview zu: Stéphane Bittoun/Sebastian Weber DIE LEGENDE VON SYD O’NOO from DIEHL+RITTER on Vimeo.

Stephan König Trio feat. Sebastian Weber

10. February 2016

Koenig-trio-feat-SW_600 The “Musikalische Komödie”, the long-standing musical and operetta venue of Leipzigs opera house, starts a new series of “Jazz on Mondays”.  To kick off the new format, the trio of Leipzig’s renowned pianist Stephan König presents its “rhythmic encounters” featuring tap dancer Sebastian Weber. The program promises “tap dance as a listening pleasure”. Check it out on March 7th, 8pm. Tickets sold here.

The Press about “The Legend of Syd O’Noo”

4. February 2016

syd4 The first performances of our dance|film|theater production “The legend of Syd O’Noo” are done. Here are some excerpts of the reviews:

In the Leipziger Volkszeitung, Boris Gruhl seems happy that one can “forget Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers” while watching our play and resumes:

In “The Legend of Syd O’Noo”, one can experience equally strong and deeply touching dance scenes, in which technique — although perfectly mastered — yields precedence to the delicacy of expression. Weber taps softly. From the gentle touch on the floor, he can move the rising energy up into the highly lifted arms, he can generate movement from breath and then develope that into sounds of his stirring body. That is tops!

Sound and movement correspond like they rarely do in dance theater — just one reason, why “The Legend of Syd O’Noo is long, but magnificent.

Leipzigs monthly magazine “Der Kreuzer” gives a special recommendation to our “quasi-documentary worth watching” and Tobias Prüwer writes in his review: | weiterlesen… »

New production blends tap, acting, film, and live music

20. April 2015

52nd_St_Sys_O_Noo_600Great news! After the LOFFT Leipzig and the State Endowment for the Arts have approved support of our new production THE LEGEND OF SYD O’NOO a few months ago, now the prestigious Tanzfonds Erbe of the National Endowment for the Arts sent their approval, too! We are now officially a “Tanzfonds Erbe Project”! This means that the funding of our project is secured and we can get to work!

THE LEGEND OF SYD O’NOO will be a wild mix of dance, acting, film, and live music and is my second collaboration with author-director Stéphane Bittoun from Frankfurt. We already worked together in my last piece SYNCHRONZEUGEN, but then the time and monetary pressure was so overwhelming, that I was permanently close to nervous breakdown and the production was completed only several weeks after opening night.  This will be different this time:

| weiterlesen… »

Blind Date at Leipzig’s hippest dance festival!

16. April 2015

TanzoffensiveOff an on over the past twenty years, I had the opportunity to perform a “blind date” on stage – an entirely improvised first encounter before an audience. However, rarely have I been that clueless as to who I might meet on stage! Not even the festival program gives any hint at who my partners might be. Pure improv, real real time. I love it!

The “Tanzoffensive” is Leipzigs vibrant festival for contemporary dance. This years edition focuses on productions that blend contemporary dance with show business in some way or another. You can find all informations about the Tanzoffensive 2015 on the website of the LOFFT theater.

The Blind Date happens on May 8th, 8pm at the LOFFT Leipzig.

Workshop in Freiburg

25. January 2015

Steptanz-Workshop-S-Weber-2015_160Happy to announce, the opportunity of a workshop in my old home town Freiburg appeared on short notice: Vivian Kleiser organizes the classes in the studio of the Musical TAP Company on March 14th + 15th. In addition to two “normal” workshops for adv beginners and int/advanced levels, there will be special classes in “Groove Training” and Improvisation. Check the  workshop flyer for details.

6 Workshops + Performance + Film: the Berlin Tap Project

15. October 2014

Berlin_Tap_www_hoch2-200I am excited to announce a brand-new, ambitious workshop format in collaboration with Blue Tap Berlin: the BERLIN TAP PROJECT will rehearse, film, and perform a multi-part a capella choreography with advanced tap dancers between December 2014 and April 2015. The project consists of six weekend-workshops, two days each, with 5-6 hours of rehearsal and training per day! Apart from working on the choreography, we will also develope our technical, musical, and improvisational skills. The final piece will put powerful uni-sono passages next to intricate counterpoints and will also open up inspired spaces for solo and duo features.

The continuous and intensive work in a set group of dancers will allow us to dig deep into all those things that are usually only touched superficially in “ordinary workshops” and we will work on our stuff until it is fit for performance. (After all, instead of the three hours you might spend in a normal workshop, this project has more than twenty times as much studio time…)

The beautiful studio and floor of Blue Tap in Berlin provides the perfect environment for a performance and to make it last a little longer, we will also take the time to have the choreography filmed professionally. As a participant you may use the video for your own, non-commercial purposes (such as self-marketing).

| weiterlesen… »

Site maintenance…

11. September 2014

I am reprogramming this website. It will be bilingual! However, for the next few days things might be a little rough here and some of the content will not be accessible. It won’t take long, though…

Workshop in Cologne

10. September 2014

Stepptanz_Koeln_2014The flyers for the upcoming workshop in Cologne are out. From Nov 7th thru 9th, there will be a swinging blues (in memoriam Buster Brown), the “Tribute to the Masters 1” featuring steps by Astaire, Bubbles, Coles & Atkins and the Nicholas Brothers, and a new A Capella choreography for advanced dancers. The friday night special is on jazz phrasing in tap and my personal favorite. Saturday also has a jam session.

Classes at Ulrike Neth’s tap club are usually sold out fast, so early booking is recommended…

tap dancing with Cologne’s Timeart Ensemble

8. September 2014

timeart-shapes3For about ten years, Matthias Muche (trombone) and Sven Hahne (media artist) have produced inspired, inquisitive, and intelligent performances at the intersection of analog music and digital media art. Their “Frischzelle Festival” has grown to international acclaim and sets standards for the genre. One of their projects is the Timeart Ensemble, which features varying artists in collaborations of dance, interactive electronics and music.

The third installment of their current series has special guests Audrey Chen on cello and Ettienne Nillesen on drums – both acclaimed improvisers on their instruments – and tap dancer Sebastian Weber. Their performance titled “Timeart Ensemble shapes #3: blue poles” takes the work of painter Jackson Pollock as a starting point for multi-genre explorations.

| weiterlesen… »

Video-Interview zur Entstehung der „Legende von Syd O’Noo“

12. Februar 2016

Zur Dokumentation der Stücke, die im Rahmen des Tanzfonds Erbe gefördert werden, lässt das ausführende Kulturbüro DIEHL + RITTER Video-Interviews mit den beteiligten Theatermachern und Choreographen machen. Andrea Keiz hatte den Auftrag, uns zu interviewen. Hier ist ihr Film:

Interview zu: Stéphane Bittoun/Sebastian Weber DIE LEGENDE VON SYD O’NOO from DIEHL+RITTER on Vimeo.

Stephan König Trio feat. Sebastian Weber in der MuKo

10. Februar 2016

Koenig-trio-feat-SW_600

Die Musikalische Komödie, das traditionsreiche Operetten- und Musicalhaus der Oper Leipzig, startet eine neue Reihe „Jazz am Montag“. Den Auftakt der Serie bestreitet das Trio des Leipziger Pianisten Stephan König mit Sebastian Weber als Gast. „Steptanz als Hörvergnügen“ verspricht das Programmheft. Am 7. März, 20 Uhr, auf der großen Bühne. Hier gibt’s Tickets.

Presse zum neuen Stück „Die Legende von Syd O’Noo“

4. Februar 2016

syd4

Die ersten Auftritte der Tanz/Theater/Film Produktion „Die Legende von Syd O’Noo“ liegen hinter uns. Hier ist eine erste Presseschau:

Boris Gruhl freut sich in der Leipziger Volkszeitung, dass man Fred Astaire und Ginger Rogers „getrost vergessen kann“, wenn man unser Stück sieht und resümiert:

In „Die Legende von Syd O’Noo“, das am Donnerstag Premiere hatte, sind so starke wie zutiefst berührende Tanzszenen zu erleben, bei denen die Technik, bei bester Beherrschung, zugunsten der Empfindsamkeit des Ausdrucks zurücktritt. Weber steppt leise. Er kann vom sanften Auftippen der Spitze die sich steigernde Energie bis in die hoch erhobenen Arme führen, er kann die Bewegung aus dem Atem entwickeln und diese dann in die Klänge des bewegten Körpers übergehen lassen. Das ist Spitze!

Bewegung und Klang korrespondieren wie selten im Tanztheater – nur ein Grund, warum „Die Legende von Syd O’Noo“ zwar lang, aber doch großartig ist.

Leipzigs Monatsmagazin „Der Kreuzer“ macht unsere „sehenswerte Quasi-Dokumentation“ im Februar zum Tagestipp und Tobias Prüwer schreibt in seiner Rezension: | weiterlesen… »

Startschuss für neue Produktion aus Steptanz, Schauspiel, Film und Musik

20. April 2015

52nd_St_Sys_O_Noo_600

Gute Nachrichten! Nachdem sich das LOFFT Leipzig und die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen schon vor einigen Monaten für eine Förderung unserer neuen Produktion THE LEGEND OF SYD O’NOO entschieden hatten, kommt nun auch vom Tanzfonds Erbe der Bundeskulturstiftung die Zusage! Wir sind nun also offiziell ein Tanzfonds-ERBE Projekt! Damit ist die Finanzierung des Projekts gesichert und wir legen los.

„THE LEGEND OF SYD O’NOO – Ein Tanzfonds ERBE Projekt“ wird eine wilde Mischung Tanz, Schauspiel, Film und live Musik und ist meine zweite Zusammenarbeit mit dem Frankfurter Autor und Regisseur Stéphane Bittoun. Bereits in SYNCHRONZEUGEN hatten wir das Vergnügen miteinander, damals allerdings unter solchem Finanz- und Zeitdruck, dass ich mehrfach kurz vor dem Nervenzusammenbruch stand und das Stück erst Wochen nach der Premiere fertig wurde. Das wird diesmal anders: | weiterlesen… »

Blind Date bei Leipzigs coolstem Tanzfestival!

16. April 2015

TanzoffensiveIm Laufe der letzten 20 Jahre hatte ich immer wieder die Gelegenheit zu einem „Blind Date“ – einer völlig improvisierten ersten Begegnung auf der Bühne. Aber so ahnungslos wie diesmal, war ich schon lange nicht mehr! Noch nicht mal im Programmheft des Festivals findet sich ein Hinweis darauf, wen ich auf der Bühne treffen werde. Impro total. I love it!

Das Blind Date steigt am Freitag, den 08.05. um 20:00 als Teil der Tanzoffensive 2015 im LOFFT.

Die Tanzoffensive ist Leipzigs Festival für zeitgenössischen Tanz. Dieses Jahr steht die Verbindung von zeitgenössischem Tanz mit Showbusiness im Fokus. Alle Infos findet Ihr auf der Webseite des LOFFT.

 

 

Workshop in Freiburg

25. Januar 2015

Steptanz-Workshop-S-Weber-2015_160Kurzfristig ergibt sich die Möglichkeit für einen Workshop in Freiburg im Breisgau! Vivian Kleiser organisiert die Kurse in den Räumen des Musical Tap Company am 14. und 15. März. Neben zwei „normalen“ Workshops für die Levels A/M und M/F stehen auch „Groove Training“ und ein spezieller Improvisationsworkshop auf dem Programm. Alle Details findet Ihr auf dem Workshop Flyer.

6 Workshops + Aufführung + Film: das Berlin Tap Project

15. Oktober 2014

Berlin_Tap_www_hoch2-200Ich freue mich, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Blue Tap Studio in Berlin, ein ganz neues, ehrgeiziges Workshop-Format anbieten zu können: im BERLIN TAP PROJECT studiere ich mit fortgeschrittenen SteptänzerInnen zwischen Dezember 2014 und April 2015 eine mehrteilige a capella Choreographie ein, die zum Abschluss professionell gefilmt und aufgeführt wird. Das Projekt umfasst sechs Workshops von jeweils zwei Tagen mit 5 bis 6 Stunden Training pro Tag. Neben der Arbeit am Repertoire, sind Technik-, Groove- und Improvisationstraining Teil der gemeinsamen Arbeit.

In der fertigen Choreographie werden kraftvolle uni sono-Passagen und ausgeklügelte Kontrapunkte einander abwechseln und auch inspirierte Räume für Soli und kurze, individuelle Features öffnen.

Durch die regelmäßige und intensive Arbeit in einer feststehenden Gruppe, werden wir all das, was in „normalen“ Workshops nur kurz angerissen werden kann, bis ins Detail verfolgen und solange daran arbeiten, bis jeder das Material bühnenreif verinnerlicht hat! Das wird ein Fest! Für eine Aufführung bietet der tolle Raum des Blue Tap Studios die ideale Umgebung und damit das Ganze nicht so schnell vorbei ist, nehmen wir uns außerdem die Zeit, die Choreographie professionell zu filmen. Das daraus entstehende Video können die Teilnehmer für ihre eigenen (nicht-kommerziellen) Zwecke nutzen. | weiterlesen… »

Seite im Umbau…

11. September 2014

Liebe Besucher,

ich programmiere die ganze Webseite neu. Unter anderem wird sie jetzt zweisprachig! Allerdings geht es deshalb in den nächsten Tagen etwas drunter und drüber und manche Inhalte sind vielleicht kurz mal weg… Dauert aber nicht lange!

Workshop in Köln

10. September 2014

Stepptanz_Koeln_2014Der Flyer für den kommenden Workshop in Köln ist da! Vom 7.-9. November gibt es einen groovigen Blues für Anfänger mit Vorkenntnissen, den Tribute to the Masters mit Schritten von Astaire, Bubbles, Coles & Atkins und den Nicholas Bros. für Mittelstufe und einer neuen A Capella Choreo für’s F-Level. Freitag gibt’s ein Special zum Thema Phrasierung, das ich persönlich für den wertvollsten Teil halte! Außerdem eine Jam Session am Samstag. Die Kurse in Ulrike Neths tap club sind meistens schnell ausgebucht, deshalb lohnt sich eine frühe Anmeldung…

Steptanz in Köln’s Timeart Ensemble

8. September 2014

timeart-shapes3Matthias Muche (Posaune) und Sven Hahne (Elektronik) machen seit gut zehn Jahren inspirierte, neugierige und brandaktuelle Performances an der Schnittstelle von Musik und Medienkunst. Als Gründer des mittlerweile international beachteten Frischzelle Festivals setzen sie Maßstäbe in ihrem Genre. Eines ihrer Projekte ist das Timeart Ensemble, das in wechselnder Besetzung imp
rovisierte Musik mit interaktiven Projektionen und Tanz zusammenbringt. Im dritten Streich der Serie sind das neben Muche und Hahne (der diesmal interaktive Videoprojektionen beisteuert) die Cellistin Audrey Chen und der Schlagzeuger Ettienne Nillesen – beides fantastische Grenzgänger an ihren Instrumenten – und der Steptänzer Sebastian Weber. Unter dem Titel „Timeart Ensemble shapes #3: blue poles“ nehmen sie sich das Werk des Malers Jackson Pollock als Inspirationsquelle.  | weiterlesen… »